Aitken, Mark

Aitken, Mark

SVP of Advanced Technology and President, ONE Media 3.0 at Sinclair Broadcast Group

Mark A. Aitken is senior vice president for advanced technology and president of ONE Media, Sinclair’s innovations company that has driven breakthrough ATSC 3.0 technologies. He holds patents for RF devices and next-gen systems and has won numerous awards, including the 2018 NAB Television Engineering Achievement Award.

Mark A. Aitken has served as Senior Vice President / Vice President Advanced Technology since July 2011, and prior to that he served as Director of Advanced Technology. Mr. Aitken is responsible for representing the group’s interests in regulatory, technical and standards issues within industry-related organizations and before regulatory agencies both in the US and internationally.  

Mr. Aitken has been involved in the broadcast industry’s migration to advanced services since 1987, from his participation in the FCC’s Advisory Committee on Advanced Television Services to his current involvement with the Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC).  

Mr. Aitken was the primary architect in the formation of ONE Media, and a driver of key ATSC 3.0 breakthrough technologies. He is a member of the NAB TV Technology Committee which is focused on the broader technical issues facing the broadcast industry. Prior to his involvement with Sinclair, Mr. Aitken worked with COMARK Communications where he held several positions including Manager of the Systems Engineering, RF Engineering and Sales Engineering groups, as well as Director of Marketing and Sales Support which included digital television strategic planning responsibilities. While with COMARK,  

Mr. Aitken was part of the “Emmy Award Winning Team” that revolutionized the broadcast industry by bringing Inductive Output Tube (IOT) technology to the marketplace. Mr. Aitken is the author of many papers dealing with innovative RF product developments, advanced digital broadcast systems design-implementation strategies, and holds patents for various RF devices and Next Gen systems.  

Mark is a member of the AFCCE, IEEE and SMPTE, as well as active participant in NAB, ATSC and other industry organizations. He is a recipient of the 2008 “Broadcasting and Cable” Technology Leadership Award, 2013 recipient of the ATSC “Bernard Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award”, 2018 awardee of “Future’s” Industry Innovator Award” and the “2018 NAB Television Engineering Achievement Award”, and serves as a member of the Board of ATSC, ATBA and Saankhya Labs.